Suche innerhalb des Archivs / Search the Archive All words Any words

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[] CfP: New Security Paradigms Workshop, Virginia, 9/2002,

Call For Papers
New Security Paradigms Workshop 2002
An ACM/SIG sponsored workshop
23 - 26 September 2002
The Chamberlain Hotel, Hampton, Virginia, USA 

For ten years the New Security Paradigms Workshop (NSPW) has provided
a productive and highly interactive forum for innovative new
approaches to computer security. The workshop offers a constructive
environment for experienced researchers and practitioners as well as
newer participants in the field.  The result is a unique opportunity
to exchange ideas. NSPW 2002 will take place September 23 - 26, 2001
at the Chamberlain Hotel, Fort Monroe, Hampton, Virginia, about 2.5
hours from Washington, DC.

In order to preserve the small, focused nature of the workshop,
participation is limited to authors of accepted papers and conference
organizers. Because we expect new paradigms, we accept wide-ranging
topics in information security. Any paper that presents a significant
shift in thinking about difficult security issues or builds on a
previous shift is welcomed.

What makes a paper acceptable for NSPW? While we reject plenty of
excellent papers that would do very well at other venues, our eclectic
program committee particularly looks for new paradigms, innovative
approaches to older problems, early thinking on new topics that are
not necessarily fully polished, and controversial issues that might
not make it into other conferences but deserve to have their try at
shaking and breaking the mold. Conversely, a great paper that does not
have a new paradigm, does not challenge the status quo, or does not
critique an older paradigm will almost certainly get rejected.

NSPW is highly interactive in nature. Authors are encouraged to
present ideas that might be considered risky in some other forum. All
participants are charged with providing feedback in a constructive
manner. The resulting brainstorming environment has proven to be an
excellent medium for furthering the development of these ideas. Many
authors have mentioned that they received more useful feedback and
ideas on their work during the presentation and discussion of it at
NSPW than from any other conference. The proceedings, published after
the workshop, have consistently benefited from the inclusion of
workshop feedback.

To participate, please submit your paper, justification, and
attendance statement, preferably via e-mail, to both Program Chairs --
Carla Marceau carla -!
- oracorp -
 com and Simon Foley s -
 foley -!
- cs -
 ucc -
 ie --
by Friday, April 5, 2002 (hardcopy submissions must be received by
March 28, 2002). Further details on the required format of submissions

1 - Your Paper

You should submit either a research paper, a 5 - 10 page position
paper, or a discussion topic proposal. Submissions of any type must
not have been published elsewhere. Discussion topic proposals should
include an in-depth description of the topic to be discussed, a
convincing argument that the topic will lead to a lively discussion,
and any other supporting materials.

Softcopy submissions should be in Postscript, PDF, Word/RTF or ASCII
format. Papers may be submitted as hardcopy. To submit hardcopy,
please mail 5 (five) copies to Program Co-chair Carla Marceau. Please
allow adequate time for delivery.

2 - Justification

You should describe, in one page or less, why your paper is
appropriate for the New Security Paradigms Workshop. A good
justification will describe the new paradigm being proposed, explain
how it is a departure from existing theory or practice, and identify
those aspects of the status quo it challenges or rejects.

3 - Attendance Statement

You should state how many authors wish to attend the workshop.
Accepted papers require the attendance of at least one author. In
order to ensure that all papers receive equally strong feedback, all
attendees are expected to stay for the entire duration of the

The program committee will referee the papers and notify the authors
of acceptance status by June 14, 2002. We expect to be able to offer a
limited amount of financial aid to those who require it. More
information will be provided on our web site <> as
it becomes available.

New Security Paradigms Workshop 2002

Workshop General and Vice Chairs

Cristina Serban                         O. Sami
AT&T Labs                               SRI Computer Science
200 Laurel Ave.                         3601 43rd Street South
Middletown, NJ 07748 USA                Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494 USA
Email: cserban -!
- att -
 com                  Email: ssaydjari -!
- csl -
 sri -
Voice: +1 (732) 420-8796                Voice: +1 (715) 424-2642

Program Committee Co-Chairs

Carla Marceau                           Simon Foley
Odyssey Research Associates             Department of Computer Science
13 Thornwood Dr.                        University College Cork
Ithaca, NY 14850 USA                    Cork, Ireland
Email: carla -!
- oracorp -
 com                Email: s -
 foley -!
- cs -
 ucc -
Voice: +1 (607) 266-7110                Voice: +353 21 490 2929

Program Committee

Bob Blakley, Tivoli Systems
Wenliang Du, Syracuse University
Steven J. Greenwald, Independent Consultant
Clifford Kahn, Silicon Defense
Wenke Lee, Georgia Institute of Technology
Ira Moskowitz, Naval Research Laboratory               
Emilia Rosti, Universita` degli Studi di Milano
M. Angela Sasse, University College London        
Marvin Schaefer, Books With A Past
R. Sekar, SUNY Stony Brook 
John Michael Williams, USA
Jianxin Jeff Yan, Cambridge University 
Mary Ellen Zurko, IBM Software Group 

Local Arrangements

John McDermott, Naval Research Laboratory, mcdermott -!
- itd -
 nrl -
 navy -

Financial Aid

Hilary Hosmer, Data Security Inc., hosmer -!
- datasecinc -
John McHugh, SEI/CERT, jmchugh -!
- cert -


Hilary Hosmer, Data Security Inc., hosmer -!
- datasecinc -
Abe Singer, University of California, San Diego, abe -!
- sdsc -


Ravi Sandhu, ISSE - George Mason University

Steering Committee

Bob Blakley, Simon Foley, Steven J. Greenwald, Hilary Hosmer, Carla
Marceau, Catherine Meadows, O. Sami Saydjari, Cristina Serban, Mary
Ellen Zurko

Liste verlassen: 
Mail an infowar -
 de-request -!
- infopeace -
 de mit "unsubscribe" im Text.