Suche innerhalb des Archivs / Search the Archive All words Any words

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[] CfP: New Security Paradigms Workshop 09/02, Deadline 5.April,

Call For Papers
New Security Paradigms Workshop 2002
An ACM/SIG sponsored workshop
23 - 26 September 2002
Founders' Inn, Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA 

For ten years the New Security Paradigms Workshop (NSPW) has
provided a productive and highly interactive forum for
innovative new approaches to computer security. The workshop
offers a constructive environment for experienced researchers
and practitioners as well as newer participants in the field.
The result is a unique opportunity to exchange ideas. NSPW 2002
will take place September 23 - 26, 2002 at the Founder's
Inn, Virgina Beach, Virginia, about 2.5 hours from
Washington, DC.

In order to preserve the small, focused nature of the workshop,
participation is limited to authors of accepted papers and
conference organizers. Because we expect new paradigms, we
accept wide-ranging topics in information security. Any paper
that presents a significant shift in thinking about difficult
security issues or builds on a previous shift is welcomed.

What makes a paper acceptable for NSPW? While we reject plenty
of excellent papers that would do very well at other venues, our
eclectic program committee particularly looks for new paradigms,
innovative approaches to older problems, early thinking on new
topics that are not necessarily fully polished, and
controversial issues that might not make it into other
conferences but deserve to have their try at shaking and
breaking the mold. Conversely, a great paper that does not have
a new paradigm, does not challenge the status quo, or does not
critique an older paradigm will almost certainly get rejected.

NSPW is highly interactive in nature. Authors are encouraged to
present ideas that might be considered risky in some other
forum. All participants are charged with providing feedback in a
constructive manner. The resulting brainstorming environment has
proven to be an excellent medium for furthering the development
of these ideas. Many authors have mentioned that they received
more useful feedback and ideas on their work during the
presentation and discussion of it at NSPW than from any other
conference. The proceedings, published after the workshop, have
consistently benefited from the inclusion of workshop feedback.

To participate, please submit your paper, justification, and
attendance statement, preferably via e-mail, to both Program
Chairs --  Carla Marceau carla -!
- oracorp -
 com and Simon Foley
s -
 foley -!
- cs -
 ucc -
 ie -- by Friday, April 5, 2002 (hardcopy
submissions must be received by March 28, 2002). Further details
on the required format of submissions follow.

1 - Your Paper

You should submit a research paper, a 5 - 10 page position
paper, or a discussion topic proposal. Submissions of any type
must not have been published elsewhere. Discussion topic
proposals should include an in-depth description of the topic to
be discussed, a convincing argument that the topic will lead to
a lively discussion, and any other supporting materials.

Softcopy submissions should be in Postscript, PDF, Word/RTF or
ASCII format. Papers may be submitted as hardcopy. To submit
hardcopy, please mail 5 (five) copies to Program Co-chair Carla
Marceau. Please allow adequate time for delivery.

2 - Justification

You should describe, in one page or less, why your paper is
appropriate for the New Security Paradigms Workshop. A good
justification will describe the new paradigm being proposed,
explain how it is a departure from existing theory or practice,
and identify those aspects of the status quo it challenges or

3 - Attendance Statement

You should state how many authors wish to attend the workshop.
Accepted papers require the attendance of at least one author.
In order to ensure that all papers receive equally strong
feedback, all attendees are expected to stay for the entire
duration of the workshop.

The program committee will referee the papers and notify the
authors of acceptance status by June 14, 2002. We expect to be
able to offer a limited amount of financial aid to those who
require it. More information will be provided on our web site
<> as it becomes available.

New Security Paradigms Workshop 2002

Workshop General and Vice Chairs

Cristina Serban                         O. Sami
AT&T Labs                               SRI Computer Science
200 Laurel Ave.                         3601 43rd Street South
Middletown, NJ 07748 USA                Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494 USA
Email: cserban -!
- att -
 com                  Email: ssaydjari -!
- csl -
 sri -
Voice: +1 (732) 420-8796                Voice: +1 (715) 424-2642

Program Committee Co-Chairs

Carla Marceau                           Simon Foley
Odyssey Research Associates             Department of Computer Science
33 Thornwood Dr.                        University College Cork
Ithaca, NY 14850 USA                    Cork, Ireland
Email: carla -!
- oracorp -
 com                Email: s -
 foley -!
- cs -
 ucc -
Voice: +1 (607) 266-7110                Voice: +353 21 490 2929

Program Committee

Bob Blakley, Tivoli Systems
Wenliang Du, Syracuse University
Steven J. Greenwald, Independent Consultant
Clifford Kahn, Silicon Defense
Wenke Lee, Georgia Institute of Technology
Ira Moskowitz, Naval Research Laboratory               
Emilia Rosti, Universita` degli Studi di Milano
M. Angela Sasse, University College London        
Marvin Schaefer, Books With A Past
R. Sekar, SUNY Stony Brook 
John Michael Williams, USA
Jianxin Jeff Yan, Cambridge University 
Mary Ellen Zurko, IBM Software Group 

Local Arrangements

John McDermott, Naval Research Laboratory, mcdermott -!
- itd -
 nrl -
 navy -

Financial Aid

Hilary Hosmer, Data Security Inc., hosmer -!
- datasecinc -
John McHugh, SEI/CERT, jmchugh -!
- cert -


Hilary Hosmer, Data Security Inc., hosmer -!
- datasecinc -
Abe Singer, University of California, San Diego, abe -!
- sdsc -


Ravi Sandhu, ISSE - George Mason University

Steering Committee

Bob Blakley, Simon Foley, Steven J. Greenwald, Hilary Hosmer,
Carla Marceau, Catherine Meadows, O. Sami Saydjari, Cristina
Serban, Mary Ellen Zurko

Liste verlassen: 
Mail an infowar -
 de-request -!
- infopeace -
 de mit "unsubscribe" im Text.